vegan cinnamon coffee cake

One of my favorite memories I have of baking was when I was 26 miles into the woods at Moose Creek Ranger Station in the Selway-Bitterroot Wilderness. My crew and I were stationed there for the summer (June until the beginning of October) while we worked on trails in and around the area.  Our days off consisted of hanging out around the ranger station and at least one of the days we would turn on the propane-run oven and bake.  We would make loaves of bread and usually a few different types of sweets—either cookies (recipe coming soon) or brownies (Ghiradelli…had to use up that Costco-sized box of brownie mix!) and I would rotate between my favorite vegan recipes, one being this coffee cake!

When I made these, everyone agreed that they were amazing.  Now, I’m sure they aren’t that amazing…we were in the woods for 3 months eating oreos, lentils, and tortillas…but they are pretty good!  I adapted the recipe from a blog that I can no longer find—used to be trans-planted.com.  The time that I made them at Moose Creek I added frozen raspberries that the camp host picked and froze for us to have. Seriously, took the recipe to a whole new level.

The picture is of when I first made them for my mom’s birthday…over 3 years ago?!

IMG_4507

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c milk (rice, almond, etc.)
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 c granulated white sugar
  • 1/2 c coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 c flour (combo of spelt and oat flour or use all-purpose)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • OPTIONAL: 1/2 c fresh or frozen berries

Topping

  • 1  c oats (rolled oats or quick-cooking oats)
  • 1/3 c brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 c coconut oil (melted, may not need it all)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°. Grease or line a muffin tin with cupcake wrappers, set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, mix milk and vinegar.  Set aside to curdle.
  3. Make the topping: mix oats, sugar, and spices well.  Drizzle oil by the tablespoon until mixture clumps together.
  4. Make the cake: mix milk mixture, sugar, vanilla, and oil in a large bowl.  Sift in flour, baking powder, and salt until smooth.
  5. Pour half of cake batter in prepped pan.  Sprinkle berries on top (if using) and then pour remaining batter.  Sprinkle topping on top and pat gently so it sits into the batter. Bake 35-40 minutes, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Let cool 30 minutes before slicing!

Notes:

  • I have made these in an 8×8 pan, muffin tins, and donut pans.  All turn out great!
  • Adding berries are awesome.  Preferably freshly picked huckleberries or raspberries 🙂
Leave a Reply

